Thursday, January 20, 2011

Ticket deal for Saturday, January 22 Masterworks

We are offering a special ticket deal for the third installment of our Masterworks concert this Saturday, January 22, at the Flynn Center in Burlington. Any seat available in the house is being offered at $25. You must redeem this deal through the Flynn Regional Box Office online, over the phone by calling (802) 86-FLYNN, or in person at the box office on Main Street in Burlington. You must use the following code: mw3deal (case sensitive for online orders). Keep reading for complete program info. Read the program notes on this blog.

Banish the mid-winter blues with three cheerful works! The silliness of Rossini’s one-act farce extends to the orchestra, as violinists turn into percussionists. The outstanding young pianist, Anna Polonsky, has chosen the uplifting K. 595 from among the treasure trove of Mozart’s piano concertos. Beethoven’s lighter side prevails in his fourth symphony, which Berlioz called “lively, nimble, and joyous.”

Jaime Laredo, conductor
Anna Polonsky, piano

ROSSINI Overture to Il Signor Bruschino
MOZART Concerto No. 27, K. 595
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 4